Chocolate Pumpkin Muffins (gluten free)

I know, who makes pumpkin muffins in the spring? I do! The “basic” girl in me was craving some pumpkin, so I grabbed some essentials to whip up a batch of pumpkin muffins. IΒ started using Vital Proteins collagen whey protein powder about a month ago and I absolutely love it. I think what stood out to me about this protein powder was that it actually isn’t sweet, but it is still delicious. It also has extremely clean ingredients, which I really appreciate. It was the perfect protein powder to add to my muffins, because it added that chocolatey flavour without adding so much sweetness (so I didn’t feel guilty about adding a few chocolate chips!). Let me know if you make these on Instagram by tagging me in your photos (@tanlines.and.training)! Enjoy!

File_000 (1)

I forgot the pumpkin seeds in my first batch, but they are still tasty!

Ingredients:

1 cup gluten free old fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree

1 cup plain greek yogurt

2 large eggs

2 scoops Cocoa Coconut Vital Proteins powder (http://www.vitalproteins.com/fitness/collagen-whey-cocoa-coconut-20-oz-canister.html)

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 dark chocolate chips

File_001 (1)

Much better with the pumpkin seeds!

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease muffin tin (or place muffin liners in tin)
  2. Add oats to food processor and blend until flour forms (15-20 seconds)
  3. Add all ingredients except pumpkin seeds and chocolate chips & blend
  4. Stir in 3/4 of the pumpkin seeds and 1/2 of the chocolate chips
  5. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full and sprinkle tops with remaining seeds and chocolate chips. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until you can poke one with a toothpick and it comes out clean

Makes 12 muffins

Nutrition per muffin*

Calories: 156

Carbs: 15g

Protein: 8g

Fat: 7g

*Nutrition is an approximate estimation and will vary based on ingredient brands*

*sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

