Life After Running

Some humans are made for running, but if I’m completely honest – I believe that most of us are not. Talk to any doctor and they will tell you that long distance running is one of the most addicting form of exercise that is the hardest on your joints. I am 22 years old and should be in the best shape of my life, but here I am unable to run.

Running gives you a high. When you reach a new distance, beat a new time, or just have an amazing run, you come home and feel INCREDIBLE. My training got to a point where I was actually proud when I came home from a long run with bloody socks, yeah you read that right. My high had gotten in my head and actually made the pain of my bleeding feet numb. So, it was no surprise when I was diagnosed with an injury caused from overtraining.

Flash forward a year and I have finally come to the conclusion that running is not for me. I spent hundreds of dollars on physiotherapy, active release therapy, dry needling, chiropractors, naturopaths, and the list goes on. I tried everything to get back to the long distance runner that I was. My final decision actually came after a discussion with my family doctor. We talked about how my joint are fine now, and I can continue to live a healthy lifestyle if I stop running now, but if I keep pushing and putting this strain on my body I will definitely pay for it later in life. That is not something I want for my future.

I look into my future and hope that I will be able to do the things I love with the people I love. Hiking, skiing, going for long walks along the beach (hint, hint, boyfriend… it’s time we go on another vacation), and knowing that I will be able to do that painfree makes me so HAPPY. Sure, I won’t be running marathons like I had hoped, but I would much rather live an active lifestyle with the people that I love than run 42 kms alone.

Leave a Reply

