Italian Sausage & Spinach Soup

IMG_3185.JPGWait, what? A recipe with meat?! Yes! I keep meaning to post a non-vegetarian recipe on here, so I was stoked when a lovely BBG girl asked me to share my recipe for this soup after I posted my lunch (pictured) for tomorrow! As much as I don’t want to think about it, winter is coming around the corner and it’s time to start experimenting with some new soup recipes! I combined a bunch of different recipes and added my own spin on this to make this delicious soup! I hope you enjoy! I had to substitute white beans for mixed beans, but it was still delicious!

 

 

Ingredients:

2 lbs Italian sausage, chopped into bite size pieces (turkey if possible!)

2 tablespoons olive oil

½ onion, chopped finely

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablspoons – or to taste–Italian seasoning (mix of basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme)

8-12 cups low sodium chicken broth*

2 fresh roma tomatoes, chopped

2 cans white beans – rinsed and drained

1 cup uncooked whole wheat pasta

4-6 cups fresh spinach

fresh parmesan for garnish

 

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium high heat
  2. Cook the sausage meat until browned (8-10 minutes) and add in onion, garlic, and Italian seasoning and let cook for another 5 minutes
  3. Add chicken broth, tomatoes, beans & being to a boil
  4. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes
  5. Add pasta and simmer for an additional 10 minutes, stirring occasionally
  6. Skim any fat that has accumulated on top of the soup, then add fresh spinach and cook until wilted (1-2 minutes)
  7. Season with pepper and serve with fresh parmesan

 

* I used 8 cups of chicken broth and my soup wasn’t very “soupy” so I suggest you start with 8 and see how much liquid you prefer!

 

Leave a Reply

