Crockpot Vegetarian Coconut Curry

Although I seem to only post vegetarian recipes on here, I swear I eat meat! One of these days I’ll share a non-vegetarian meal with you, but I guess today isn’t the day. It has been pretty rainy in my city the past week or so and I was starting toIMG_7557 crave some comfort food. Warm Indian spices and sweet coconut rice sounded like it would hit the spot, but I wasn’t feeling like takeout and wanted a healthier alternative to my usual curry with chicken, rice, naan, and a bite or two of whatever my boyfriend ordered! Instead, I made this vegetable-packed low-cal chickpea curry! It’s so easy to throw into a crockpot and leave to simmer, and it smells SO GOOD when you walk in the door! I hope you enjoy!

 

 

Ingredients:

1 tsp olive oil

1/2 onion chopped (white or yellow)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 large can (28 oz) tomatoes, drained

1/2 cauliflower, chopped into small florets

1 sweet potato, peeled and diced

2 cans light coconut milk

1 cup vegetable broth

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (mix of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice)

1/2 rounded tbsp curry powder

1 tsp salt

2 cups spinach, chopped

1 1/2 cups uncooked brown basmati rice

1/2 cup water

 

Directions

Cook the onions, garlic, and ginger in the oil for 6-7 minutes. Remove from pan and place in crockpot. Add all other ingredients except for 1 can light coconut milk, spinach, rice, and water.

Cook on low for six hours or cook on high for four hours. I suggest cooking it on low to really let the spices blend!

Approximately one hour before curry is ready, you can make your rice by adding 1 can coconut milk, water, and rice to a saucepan and bring to a boil. Once rice is boiling, cover and reduce heat to a simmer for 40 min. Turn off the heat and allow the rice to sit for ten minutes to ensure all the liquid has been absorbed.

Right before you are ready to eat, stir the spinach into the curry mixture and warm for an additional three to five minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

