meeting my fitness idol

I just got back from a girls weekend in L.A. where we went to Kayla Itsines’ BBG Sweat Tour 2016. If I had to describe the entire experience in one word it would be emotional. From the opening speech made by Tobi, Kayla’s boyfriend and co-founder of BBG, to meeting the Queen herself, I felt overwhelmed with emotion the entire time.

One of my favourite things about BBG is getting to know so many inspiring women from around the world through their “fitstagrams”. Seeing these friends meet for the first time in real life and meeting some of my own Instagram friends, was unlike anything I have ever experienced. There were girls running up to each other and hugging before a proper introduction was made because they already know each other so well through their Instagram accounts. Being able to witness and be a part of these “first meetings” was truly beautiful.Β IMG_7155

Tobi’s speech perfectly captured what the BBG community is all about – he referenced one of my friend’s shirts from the meetup in New York which said “YOU CAN SIT WITH US”. This could not be more true. I have never been a part of a more inclusive community that inspires and encourages women to be strong, independent, and feel their best. Someone mentioned that we might sound like a cult if you are on the outside looking in, but I am damn proud to be a part of this cult that helps millions of women (and a handful of men) feel confident in their own bodies!

The workout itself was incredibly hard, not that I expected any less from Kayla, but I loved every second of it. There was something magical about sweating buckets with thousands of women that are working hard and encouraging each other. Although I am not shy when it comes to taking pictures and posting them on Instagram, there is a different kind of vulnerability in taking off a shirt and working out in your sports bra in front of thousands of other people. I had not intended on taking off my shirt, but the combination of the L.A. heat, the INTENSE workout, and the complete comfort of knowing that everyone around me was supporting everyone there made it so easy to make the decision to strip down to my sports bra and crush that workout!

After the workout we stood in line to meet Kayla. I had thought about what I had wanted to say to her long and hard, but when I got to the front of the line I started to lose my mind. I was about to meet the woman that completely changed my life. Two years ago I had never heard of BBG and did not care about fitness or healthy living. Because of Kayla, I am now so passionate about leading a healthy lifestyle and working hard to reach my goals. AND I WAS GOING TO MEET HER. When the girl in front of me was meeting her I started to really freak out and Kayla totally noticed and gave me a little wink, which made my emotions go even more wild – my idol saw me! When it was finally my turn to meet her, I lost all control and ended up totally bawling. All I managed to say was “I love you” like a million times and “I should go, there are like a thousand of girls waiting to meet you and I’m holding them up”. Kayla was so kind. She hugged me, let me cry, and then let me compose myself for a few pictures. I hope I get the chance to meet her again so I can tell her how much she has changed my life and how much I appreciate and respect her, but hopefully my tears gave her that same message.

IMG_7151IMG_7153

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_7154

Leave a Reply

