The Prickly Pranamat (with discount!)

 

I saw a few people posting about a “Pranamat” on Instagram and at first it really confused me. WHY would somebody voluntarily lie on a super sharp mat, even if it is super cute? As the posts about Pranamat were becoming more frequent on my Instagram feed, I figured I better go check out the website and see what all the hype is about. It was that website and online reviews that got me intrigued and I knew I had to try one for myself. I’ve had a “Pranamat ECO” for just over three weeks now, and I am in love.

So, what is a Pranamat? Pranamat ECO is a therapeutic self-massage acupressure mat that helps relieve muscle aches and pains. The mat has dozens of little flowers that have tiny spikes that put pressure on wherever your problem areas are to help relieve pain. Think “bed of nails” but in a beautiful, relaxing way. I did a little research and discovered that yogis have been using acupressure techniques for thousands of years during meditation and healing. Acupressure mats are the safe, new, modern way for yogis, athletes, and anybody else to reap the benefits of acupressure. These benefits include increased blood circulation, decreased stress and anxiety, increased relaxation, relieved muscle pain and aches, improve sleep, and more.

Ok that’s cool, but will it hurt? Yes. It will hurt, but for a very short period of time. When you first get your Pranamat, it is suggested you try it with a light t-shirt on or placing it on a soft surface, such as a bed, to reduce the pressure from the lotus flowers. I decided to go all out when I got mine and stripped down and eased my bare back onto the mat. The initial pain lasted about three minutes before I started to feel relaxed. After the initial pain, you will be in a mellow state of relaxation until it’s time to get up, then you feel a different pain. When I peeled myself off of the mat after about half an hour, my back felt warm, tingly, and almost a little sunburnt. As weird as it sounds, I liked that because it made me feel like the mat was actually doing something. After a few days of using the mat consistently I was waking up in the morning completely free of back pain.

I like this mat for two main reasons: I really think it acts as a natural aid in relieving my muscle pains and when I am on it I DO NOT move. I sit or lay perfectly still (because when you move the spikes hurt) and the pressure of the flowers put me into such a relaxed state of mind. For example, the other night I went to go use my mat for 40 minutes and I woke up two hours later because I had fallen asleep!

Drawbacks? It’s quite expensive. The last time I checked, a Pranamat ECO cost $175 CAD on their website, www.pranamat.com. Do not let the price dissuade you; these mats come with a 30-day money back guarantee and a standard five-year warranty. What are you paying for that makes it worth the money? These mats are made to last upwards of ten years. That’s ten years of pain-free relaxation, great sleeps, and quick sports recovery times. You are also paying for quality. These mats are made out of environmentally friendly products and are free of harsh chemicals. The mats themselves are made out of natural linen, cotton, and coconut fibre and the lotus flowers are made from surgical-grade plastic. Even with all the great benefits of a Pranamat ECO, I can’t let you pay full-price for one of these babies, so feel free to take 10% off your order on their website and use the this link http://go.pranamat.org/j for a discount! If you are thinking about purchasing one, I don’t think you’ll regret it!IMG_6516

*sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

